Resources for:
  Civil Society
  Business Persons
  Children and Youth

Thematic Areas

 Printable Version


13. Representatives of the following 113 States invited in accordance with General Assembly resolution 2850 (XXVI) took part in the Conference: Afghanistan, Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belgium, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Burundi, Cameroon, Canada, Central African Republic, Ceylon, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Congo, Costa Rica, Cyprus, Dahomey, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Ethiopia, Federal Republic of Germany, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Ghana, Greece, Guatemala, Guinea, Guyana, Haiti, Holy See, Honduras, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Ivory Coast, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kuwait, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libyan Arab Republic, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Republic of Vietnam, Romania, San Marino, Senegal, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Sudan, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Thailand, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United Republic of Tanzania, United States of America, Uruguay, Venezuela, Yemen, Yugoslavia, Zaire Zambia.

14. The Secretary-General of the United Nations was present at the Conference. The Conference was attended also by representatives of the Secretary-General from the Department of Economic and Social Affairs, the regional economic commissions, the United Nations Economic and Social Office in Beirut, the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development, the United Nations Industrial Development Organization and the United Nations Development Programme. A representative of the United Nations Institute for Training and Research was also present.

15. The following specialized agencies were represented: International Labour Organisation, Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization, International Civil Aviation Organization, World 9 Health Organization, International Bank for Reconstruction and Development, International Monetary Fund, Universal Postal Union, International Telecommunication Union, World Meteorological Organization, and Inter-Governmental Maritime Consultative Organization. The International Atomic Energy Agency and the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade were also represented.

16. Observers from a number of intergovernmental organizations participated in the Conference.

17. Representatives of numerous international nongovernmental organizations invited to the Conference also participated