Resources for:
  Civil Society
  Business Persons
  Children and Youth

Thematic Areas

 Printable Version

B - Attendance

4. The following states members of the Governing Council 1/ were presented at the session:

Argentina Indonesia Syrian Arab Republic

Austalia Iraq Thailand

Botswana Japan Tunisia

Brazil Jordan Turkey

Bulgaria Kenya Uganda

Burundi Mauritania Ukrainian Soviet

Canada Mexico Socialist Republic

Chile Netherlands Union of Soviet

China Nigeria Socialist Republic

Colombia Oman United Kingdom of

Czechoslovakia Panama Great Britain and

Denmark Poland Northern Ireland

France Republic of Korea United States of

Germany, Federal Senegal America

Republic of Sri Lanka Venezuela

Ghana Swaziland Yugoslavia

Greece Sweden Zaire

India Switzerland Zambia

1/ The membership fo the Governing Council was determined by elections held at the 93rd plenary meeting of the thirty-ninth session of the General Assembly, on 10 December 1984, the 120th and 123rd plenary meetings of the fortieth session, held on 17 December 1985 and 28 April 1986, and the 98th plenary meeting of the forty-first session, held on 5th December 1986 (decisions 39/310,40/316 and 41/310). At the 97th plenary meeting of its forty-second session, on 11 December 1987, the General Assemby decided to defer elections to the Governing Council until its forty-third session and to extend by one year the term of office of those States memeber of the Governng Council whose term would expire on 31 December 1987 (decision 42/448).

5. The following States Member of the United Nations but not member of the Governig Council were represented by observers:

Algeria Malawi

Austria Maldives

Bangladesh Morocco

Belgium Norway

Burkina Faso Pakistan

Costa Rica Peru

Cote d’ Ivoire Philippines

Democratic Kampuchea Portugal

Djibouti Rwanda

Egypt Saudi Arabia

Ethiopia Somalia

Finland Spain

German Democratic Republic Sudan

Guyana Togo

Isreal United Republic of

Italy Tanzania

Kuwait Yemen

Lesotho Zimbabwe


6. The following States not a member of the United Nations were represented by an observer:

Holy See

7. The following United Nations bodies and Secretariat united were represented:

United Nations Department of International Economic and Social Affairs

United Nations Information Centre, Nairobi

Economic Commission for Europe (ECE)

United Nations Centre for Human Settlement (Habitat)

United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)

United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA)

Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR)

The World Food Programme (WFP)

8. The following specializedd agencies or other organization in the United Nations system were represented:

International Labour Organisation (ILO)

Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)

United Nations Educational, Scientific and Culture Organization (UNESCO)

International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO)

World Health Organization (WHO)

World Meteorological Organization (WMO)

United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO)

The International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) was also represented.

9. The following other intergovernmental organizations were represented:

Commission of the European Communities

Council for mutual Economic Assistance (CMEA)

Inter-American Development Bank (IDB)

Lake Chad Basin Commission (LCBC)

League oof Arab States (LAS)

Organization for Econommic Co-operation and Development (OECD)

Organization of African Unity (OAU)

10. In addition, 12 international non-governmental organizations were represented by


11. The following other organizations were represented by observers:

Africa National Congress (ANC)

Palestine Liberation Organization (PLO)

Pan African Congress of Azania (PAC)

South West Africa People’s Organization (SWAPO)