Resources for:
  Civil Society
  Business Persons
  Children and Youth

Thematic Areas

 Printable Version


Chile Nigeria

China Norway

Colombia Pakistan

Comoros Peru

Cuba Philippines

Czech Republic Poland

Finland Republic of Korea

France Russian Federation

Germany Slovakia

Hungary Sudan

India Syrian Arab Republic

Indonesia Thailand

Iran (Islamic Republic of) Tunisia

Italy Turkey

Japan United Kingdom of Great

Kenya Britain and Northern

Malawi Ireland

Mexico United States of America

Morocco Venezuela

Netherlands Zimbabwe

7. The following states not members of the Governing Council but Members of the United Nations of members of a specialized agency or of the International Atomic Energy Agency were represented by observers:

Angola Mozambique

Bangladesh Nepal

Brazil New Zealand

Costa Rica Portugal

Cyprus Romania

Denmark Rwanda

Equatorial Guinea Saudi Arabia

Ethiopia Senegal

Gabon South Africa

Ghana Spain

Holy Sri Lanka

Iraq Swaziland

Israel Sweden

Jordan Switzerland

Kuwait Uganda

Lesotho United Republic of Tanzania

Maldives Yemen

Mali Zambia

8. The observer for Palestine to the United Nations also participated.

9. The following United Nations bodies, secretariat units and convention secretariats were represented:

Secretariat of the United Nations Framework Conventions on Climate Change (UNFCCC)

United Nations Centre for Human Settlement (UNCHS) (Habitat)

United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs,

United Nations Development Programme Office to Combat

Desertification (UNSO)

United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA)

10. A representative of the Global Environment Facility (GEF) was also present.

11. The following specialized agencies were represented:

Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)

International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO)

United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)

United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO)

Universal Postal Union (UPU)

World Health Organization (WHO)

World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)

World Meteorological Organization (WMO)

The International Atomic Energy (IAEA) was also represented.

12. The following Intergovernmental organizations were represented:

European Community

League of Arab States

Organization of Africa Unity (OAU)

Secretariat of the Pacific Community

South Pacific Regional Environment Programme (SPREP)

13. In addition, the following 20 non-governmental organizations were represented by observers:

Advisory Committee on Protection of the Sea (ACOPS)

African Centre for Technology Studies (ACTS)

Baha’I International Community

Centre for Environment Technology and Development Malaysia (CETDEM)

Climate Network Africa (CAN)

Cohort for Research on Environment

Urban Management and Human Settlement (CREUMHS)

Earth Care Africa

Ecoterra International

Environment Liaison Centre International (ELCI)

Global Crop Protection Federation (GCPF)

International Confederation of Free Trade Unions

International Council for Environmental Law (ICEL)

Kenya Pastoralist Forum (KPF)

Mazingira Institute

Society for the protection of the Environment (SPEK)

The World Conservation Union (IUCN)

United Nations Association of Kenya (UNAK)

World Organization of the Scout movement (WOSM)

World Resources Institute (WRI)

World Wide Fund for Nature (WWF) International