Resources for:
  Civil Society
  Business Persons
  Children and Youth

Thematic Areas

 Printable Version

B - Attendance

3. The following States members of the Governing Council 1/ were represented at the session:

Algeria Malaysia

Argentina Mexico

Australia Morocco

Austria Nepal

Belgium Nigeria

Botswana Norway

Brazil Oman

Burundi Papua

New Guinea

Byelorussian Soviet Socialist Republic Peru

Cameroon Philippines

Canada Poland

Chile Saudi Arabia

China Senegal

Colombia Spain

Finland Sudan

France Thailand

Germany, Federal Republic of Uganda

Greece Ukrainian Soviet Socialist

Guinea Republic

Hungary Union of Soviet Socialist

India Republics

Indonesia United Kingdom of Great Britain

Italy and Northern Ireland

Ivory Coast United Republic of Tanzania

Jamaica United States of America

Japan Venezuela

Kuwait Yugoslavia

Lesotho Zaire


1/ The membership of the Governing Council was determined by elections held at the 84th plenary meeting of the thirty-fifth session of the General Assembly, held on 5 December 1980, the 64th plenary meeting of the thirty-sixth session, held on 19 November 1981, the 70th plenary meeting of the thirty-seventh session, held on 17 November 1982, and the 98th plenary meeting of the thirty-eighth session, held on 15 December 1983 (decisions 35/313, 36/314, 37/312 and 38/316).

4. The following States not members of the Governing Council were represented :

Bangladesh Kenya

Benin Liberia

Congo Malawi

Costa Rica Mali

Cyprus Netherlands

Czechoslovakia Pakistan

Denmark Portugal

Egypt Republic of Korea

Ethiopia Seychelles

Gabon Sri Lanka

Gambia Swaziland

Ghana Sweden

Holy See Switzerland

Iran (Islamic Republic of) SyrianArab Republic

Iraq Tunisia

Ireland Turkey

Israel Zimbabwe


5. The African National Congress (ANC), the Palestine Liberation Organization (PLO), the Pan Africanist Congress of Azania (PAC) and the South West Africa ",.People's organization (SWAPO) were represented as observers.

6. The following United Nations bodies and Secretariat units were represented:

Office for the Law of the Sea

Office of the Director-General for Development and International Economic Co-operation

United Nations Department of Technical Co-operation for Development

Economic Commission for Europe (ECE)

Economic commission for Latin America (ECLA)

Economic Commission for Africa (ECA)

Economic Commission for western Asia (ECWA)

United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO)

United Nations Centre for Human Settlements (Habitat) (UNCHS)

United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF)

United Nations Development Programme (UNEP)

United Nations Fund for Population Activities (UNFPA)

United Nations Sudano-Sahelian Office (UNSO)

The World Food Programme (WFIP) was also represented.

7. The following specialized agencies were represented-.

International Labor Organization (ILO)

Food and Agriculture organization of the United Nations (FAO)

United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural organization (UNESCO)

World Health Organization (WHO)

World Bank

World meteorological organization (WMO)

The International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) was also represented.

8. The following other intergovernmental organizations were represented.

African Development Bank (ADB)

Arab League Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization (ALESCO)

Commonwealth Secretariat

Council for Mutual Economic Assistance (CMEA)

European Economic Community (EEC)

Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC)

Kagera River Basin Organization (KRO)

League of Arab States (LAS)

Organization of African Unity (OAU)

Regional Organization for the Protection of the Marine Environment

South Asia Co-operative Environment Programme (SACEP)

9. In addition, 44 non-governmental organizations were represented by observers.