You are here:: »  About UNEP  »  SGB »  Committee of Permanent Representatives

Committee of Permanent Representatives

The Committee of Permanent Representatives (CPR) is composed of all accredited Permanent Representatives to UNEP and was formally established as a subsidiary organ of the Governing Council (now the United Nations Environment Assembly) in May 1985 by Governing Council Decision 13/2. 

At the first universal session of the Governing Council held in February 2013, CPR became the subsidiary inter-session body of the UNEP’s governing body with the mandate to perform the following functions (GC Decision 27/2).

  • Contribute to the preparation of the agenda of its governing body;
  • Provide advice to its governing body on policy matters;
  • Prepare decisions for adoption by its governing body and oversee their implementation; Convene thematic and/or programmatic debates;
  • Promote effective ways and means to facilitate participation of the non-resident members of the Committee, particularly from developing countries;
  • Perform any other functions delegated to it by its governing body.

CPR has a five-member bureau, elected for a period of two years taking into account the principles of rotation and equitable geographical representation.  The current bureau concludes its term in June 2017:


 H.E. Ms. Julia Pataki (Romania)

 Vice Chairs

H.E. Mr. John Moreti (Botswana)
High Commissioner and Permanent Representative

H.E. Ms. Marcela M. Nicodemos (Brazil)
Ambassador and Permanent Representative

H.E. Mr. Raza Bashir Tarar (Pakistan)
High Commissioner and Permanent Representative


Mr. Toni Sandell (Finland)

Secretariat of Governing Bodies