You are here:: »  About UNEP  »  SGB »  UNEP Governance Structure

UNEP Governance Structure

At the United Nations Conference on Sustainable Development (Rio+20) held in June 2012, world leaders declared their commitment to “strengthening the role of UNEP as the leading global environmental authority that sets the global environmental agenda, that promotes the coherent implementation of the environmental dimension of sustainable development within the UN system and that serves as an authoritative advocate for the global environment”.  To this end, they called on the UN General Assembly to adopt a resolution to strengthen and upgrade UNEP by, among others, establishing universal membership in the Governing Council of UNEP (paragraph 88 of the Rio+20 outcome document, “The future we want”).  

As a result, the General Assembly in its resolution 67/213 established universal membership in the Governing Council (GC) of UNEP and mandated it to initiate the implementation of the provisions contained in paragraph 88 of “The future we want” in its entirety.  At its first universal session held in February 2013 in Nairobi, the Governing Council decided to rename the governing body of UNEP as the United Nations Environment Assembly (UNEA) of the UNEP (Governing Council decision 27/2) to reflect its universal character and to organize it every even year with a view to taking strategic decisions and providing political guidance on global environmental issues.




H.E. Ms. Oyun Sanjaasuren (Mongolia

Vice Presidents
H.E. Prof. Judi Wakhungu (Kenya)
Cabinet Secretary for Environment, Water and Natural Resources

H.E. Mr. Hesham Shoeir (Egypt)
Ambassador and Head of Sustainable Development and Environment Affairs, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

H.E. Dr. Adeelah Hammood Hussein Saleem(Iraq)
Minister of Health and  Environment

H.E. Mrs. Cristiana Pascal Palmer (Romania)
Minister of Environment, Waters and Forests

Ms. Nino Tkhilava (Georgia)
Head of the Department of Environmental Policy and International Relations, Ministry of Environment and Natural Resources Protection

Ms. Idunn Eidheim (Norway)
Deputy Director General for International Cooperation, Ministry of Climate and Environment

Mr. Chris Vanden Bilcke (Belgium)
Head of Directorate for Sustainable Development and Climate Change, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

H.E. Mr. Mariano Castro (Peru)
Vice-Minister of Environment

H.E. Mr. James Louis Fletcher (St. Lucia)
Minister of Sustainable Development, Energy, Science and Technology

Secretariat of Governing Bodies