Nominate a Champion

Do you know a Champion of the Earth?

Nominations for 2020 have now closed.

Every year, individuals, groups and organizations that have made outstanding contributions to the protection and restoration of the environment are recognized in four categories:

  • Policy leadership
  • Inspiration and action
  • Entrepreneurial vision
  • Science and innovation

Selection process

Every year, Champions are selected from hundreds of nominees globally, submitted during a public nominating process. Once submitted, a team of UN Environment Programme (UNEP) staff researches and prepares detailed profiles of each candidate, their achievements and qualifications. The profiles are reviewed by a broader group of UNEP experts before submission to a jury who select the laureates. In 2019, the jury consisted of five leaders of United Nations and other international organizations.

The 2020 nomination opened on 20 January 2020.

January 2020 - Submissions open. The criteria for selection are:

  • Impact - Have the nominee’s actions resulted in profound environmental gains or demonstrated significant potential for replication and scaling?

  • Novelty - Has the nominee done or achieved something new and innovative?

  • Power of the story - How compelling and inspiring is the nominee’s story?

March 2020 - Deadline for submissions. All nominations must be received by 20 March 2020, accompanied by appropriate supporting materials.

March 2020 - UNEP review. Winners are shortlisted, and a team of UNEP staff reviews the list of nominees and prepares a shortlist to be submitted before a global jury. 

May 2020 - Award laureates are chosen. A global jury consisting of high-profile individuals from different United Nations agencies and international organizations reviews the shortlist of nominations and selects their winning choice in each award category. Their decision is final.

October 2020 - Laureates are announcedWinners are disclosed publicly during a gala ceremony recognizing their achievement. The awards will be presented to this year’s laureates at a ceremony later this year.

The 2020 period portal is closed.