Current Members Of The Major Groups Facilitating Committee

Each Major Group selects two representatives in an email consultation and online bidding process. All Major Groups and Stakeholders' organizations accredited with theUnited Nations Environment Assembly (UNEA) of UNEP are authorized to vote. The Major Groups and stakeholders’ representatives serve a two-year term on the Committee. 

During the annual Regional Consultative Meetings two representatives for each UNEP region are elected. These regional representatives serve a one-year term as observers on the Committee and also participate in the Global Major Groups and Stakeholders Forum (GMGSF).

Formerly known as the “Global Civil Society Steering Committee”, the Major Groups Facilitating Committee (MGFC) “facilitates Major Groups and Stakeholders engagement with UNEP”. The Major Groups Facilitating Committee (MGFC) is not a decision-making body, but provides guidance and coordinates the engagement of Major Groups in the Global Major Groups and Stakeholders Forum  (GMGSF) cycle.

The Major Groups Facilitating Committee (MGFC) is composed of Major Groups’ representatives and representatives from the six UNEP regions: 

Major Groups’ representatives are appointed every two years after an email consultation and online bidding process. This means that each of the nine Major Groups has two representatives from among: Farmers, Women, the Scientific and Technological Community, Children and Youth, Indigenous Peoples and their Communities, Workers and Trade Unions, Business and Industry, Non-Governmental Organizations, and Local Authorities.

Regional representatives are elected for a one year term during the Regional Consultative Meetings (RCMs) taking place once a year in each of the regions. These regional representatives represent the six UNEP regions: Africa, Asia and the Pacific, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, North America and West Asia. The regional representatives also participate in the Global Major Groups and Stakeholders Forum (GMGSF)
Major Groups Facilitating Committee (MGFC)
Major Group Representative Organization
Business and Industry
Norine Kennedy United States Council for International Business (USCIB)
Michael Michener Croplife International
Children & Youth Mirna Ines Fernández Pradel
World Association of Girl Guides and Girl Scouts
Madhav Datt
Peace Child International

Mr. Tcharbuahbokengo Nfinn

Calvin James Caribbean Network for Integrated Rural Development
Indigenous Peoples and their Communities Florence Daguitan
Tebbtebba Foundation - Asia
Diego Escoba
Coordinadora de las Organizaciones indígenas de la Cuenca Amazónica (COICA)
Local Governments Joanna Setzer Network of Regional Governments for Sustainable Development
Yunus Arikan ICLEI-Local Governments for Sustainability
NGOs Cecilia Alejandra Iglesias RED Ambiental Civil Association
Leida Rijnhout European Environmental Bureau (EEB)
Scientific and Technological Community
Mohamed Abdel Raouf Environment Research, Gulf Research Center (GRC)
Lucilla Spini

International Council for Science (ICSU)

Women Caroline Usikipedo (Nigeria)
Niger Delta Women's Movement for Peace & Development
Isis Alvarez (Colombia) Global Forest Coalition
Workers and Trade Unions
Anabella Rosemberg International Trade Union Confederation (ITUC)
Yahya Msangi International Trade Union Confederation (ITUC) Africa

Regional representatives
Region Name Organization Country Major Group
ROA Ms. Tracy Sonny Climate Change Network/Action24 Botswana NGO
ROA Fazal Issa (Fazal Issa Abdulrahman DINMOHAMED Forumcc Tanzania NGO
ROAP Ms Wardarina Asia Pacific Forum on Women, Law and Development Indonesia Women
ROAP Mr Haeseung Chung UNEP TUNZA North East Asia Youth Environment Network Indonesia Republic of Korea Children and Youth
ROAP Ms. Abia Akram (ALTERNATE) Asia Pacific Women with Disabilities United Pakistan Women
ROAP Ms. Frances Quinpo (ALTERNATE) Centre for Environment Concerns – Philippines (CEC) Philippines  
ROE Olga Ponizova Eco-Accord Russia  NGO
ROE Jouni Nissinen Kehityspoliittinen asiantuntija Finland  NGO
ROLAC Pedro Cunha
 Viva Hoje

ROLAC Reginald Burke  Caribbean Policy Development Centre  Barbados NGO
RONA Peter Denton The United Church of Canada Canada  NGO

Maggie Comstock

Conservation International

ROWA Ms. Marie Therese Merhei Seif Human Environment Association of Development (HEAD) a member of Arab Forum on Environment and Development (AFED) Lebanon  NGO
ROWA Tareq Ahmed Abdo Hassan
Arab Youth Climate Movement (Affiliated with IndyAct, an accredited organization) Yemen  Children and Youth

Find out more about the Major Groups Facilitation Committee’s (MGFC) mandate in its Terms of References.