Building resilience
to climate change
Moving towards
low carbon societies
Reducing Emissions
from Deforestation
and forest Degradation
New finance models
for the green economy

About the UN-REDD Programme

UN-REDD ProgrammeThe UN-REDD programme was launched in September 2008 to help developing countries prepare and implement national REDD+ strategies, and builds on the convening power and expertise of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO), the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) and the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP).

The UN-REDD programme initially worked with nine member countries across Africa, Asia and Latin America: Bolivia, Democratic Republic of Congo, Indonesia, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Tanzania, Vietnam and Zambia. Since REDD’s inception, Argentina, Cambodia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Kenya, Mexico, Nepal, Nigeria, the Philippines, Republic of Congo, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka and Sudan have joined the programme with observer status.

The UN-REDD programme policy board, made up of representatives from partner countries, donors to the Multi-donor Trust Fund, civil society, indigenous peoples and three UN agencies, provides overall leadership, strategic direction and financial allocations to ensure the overall success of the programme.