This is a joint publication of the Division of Early Warning and Assessment (DEWA) and the Division of Environmental Policy Implementation (DEPI) of the United Nations Environmental Programme (UNEP), published as part of UNEP’s global water policy and strategy. The publication was developed in close collaboration with the UNEP centre, GRID-Arendal, in Norway.

Please quote: UNEP (2008), Vital Water Graphics - An Overview of the State of the World’s Fresh and Marine Waters. 2nd Edition. UNEP, Nairobi, Kenya. ISBN: 92-807-2236-0

Editorial Management

Salif Diop
Senior Programme Officer and Officer in Charge - Scientific Assessment Branch; Division of Early Warning and Assessment (DEWA)
United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP - Nairobi, Kenya) together with Patrick M’mayi - Programme Officer (UNEP - Nairobi, Kenya)

Philippe Rekacewicz
Geographer, cartographer and journalist
le Monde diplomatique (Paris, France)
Author of the blog Visions cartographiques

Ieva Rucevska,
Project manager (UNEP/GRID-Arendal, Norway)

Maps and graphics
Philippe Rekacewicz
with the collaboration Cécile Marin and Laura Margueritte (Paris, France)
as well as Marion Lecoquierre and Agnès Stienne

Text and figures revision
Joana Akrofi, Waithera Gaitho, Nicholas K. Koech (Intern) and Caleb Ouma (UNEP, Nairobi, Kenya)

Text in first edition
Salif Diop, Patrick M’mayi, Dennis Lisbjerg

Web site creation
Peggy Pierrot Webmaster (Brussels, Belgium)
With the support of Agnès Stienne for the overall design

Hilary Atkins (Nairobi, Kenya)

Many people assisted in the compilation of data and provided useful comments and suggestions in the preparation of this publication: Johannes Akiwumi, Alex Alusa, Hilary Atkins, Sabrina Baker, Lauretta Burke, Amy Cassara, Marion Cheatle and the GEO (Global Environment Outlook) team, Munyaradzi Chenje, Gerard Cunningham, Martin Ebbele Tobbo, Kai Falck, Waithera Gaitho, Ed Green, Pamela Green, Leo Heileman, Kelly Hodgson, Beth Ingraham, Bob Kakuyo, Grace Kamala, Bakary Kante, Nicholas K. Koech, Johnathan Kool, Yumiko Kura, Christian Lambrechts, Brian Morris, Theuri Mwangi, Edith Mussukuya, Emmanuel Naah, Takehiro Nakamura, Nick Nuttall, Thierry de Oliveira, Caleb Ouma, Joakim Palmqvist, Hassan Partow, Neeyati Patel, Doug Percival, Marie Prchalova, Walter Rast, Elina Rautalahti-Miettinen, Carmen Revenga, Audrey Ringler, Richard Robarts, Megumi Seki, Igor Shiklomanov, Ashbindu Singh, David Smith, Anna Stabrawa, Thomas Tata, Sekou Toure, Dan Tunstall, Isabelle Vanderbeck, Eric Wolanski.

We apologise to anyone whose name may have been inadvertently omitted from this list.