MEDIA ADVISORY: UN to Outline Global Emissions Cuts Roadmap to Ward Off Worst Climate Impacts Ahead of Crucial Negotiations Fri, Nov 14, 2014

As nations prepare to gather in Lima, Peru, for the latest round of negotiations in agreeing a new climate treaty, the fifth edition of the Emissions Gap Report lays out a roadmap for the cuts required to limit global warming to 2°C in this century.

Press Conference on 19 November 2014, 10:00 a.m. (EST)/15:00 (GMT)

Venue: The National Press Club, 529, 14th Street, NW, 13th Floor, Washington D.C

Who

    Achim Steiner, UN Under-Secretary-General and UNEP Executive Director

    Andrew Steer, President and CEO, World Resources Institute

    Joseph Alcamo, Chief Scientific Editor

What

    Total greenhouse gas emissions must start falling in the next few years and hit net zero by the second half of the century in order to limit global temperature rise and head off the worst impacts of climate change, according to a new United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) report. As nations prepare to gather in Lima, Peru, for the latest round of negotiations in agreeing a new climate treaty, the fifth edition of the Emissions Gap Report lays out a roadmap for the cuts required to limit global warming to 2°C in this century.

Other Press Launches

Mexico City, Mexico

    Date: 19 November 2014

    Time: 09:30 (CST)/15:30 (GMT)

    Contact: Alejandro Laguna, Tel.: +507 305 3100 or Email: alex.laguna@unep.org

Brussels, Belgium - under embargo until 16:00 CET

    Date: 19 November 2014

    Time: 13:30 pm (CET)/12:30 (GMT)

    Contact: Alexa Froger, Tel.: +32 2 213 30 59 or Email: alexa.froger@unep.org

Berlin, Germany

    Date: 20 November 2014

    Time: 08:00 am (CET)/07:00 am (GMT)

    Contact: Waiganjo Njoroge, Tel.: +254 723 857 270 or Email: Waiganjo.njoroge@unep.org

New Delhi, India

    Date: 21 November 2014

    Time: 11:00 am (IST)/05:30 (GMT)

    Contact: Satwant Kaur, Tel.: +662 288 2127 or Email: satwant.kaur@unep.org

Note to Editors:

The launch will be streamed live

Journalists are invited to interact with the experts and ask questions via UNEP Twitter account @UNEP using the hashtag #Emissionsgap

For more information, please contact:

Shereen Zorba, Head, News and Media, UNEP

+254 (0) 788 526000, shereen.zorba@unep.org or unepnewsdesk@unep.org

Hugh Searight, Division of Communication and Public Information

+254726705561, hugh.searight@unep.org

 
comments powered by Disqus