Contact Group Meeting, Customs Union, Minsk, Belarus, 18 - 20 March 2014

The Customs Union between Belarus, Kazakhstan and the Russian Federation was established on 1 January 2010. Currently, Armenia, Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan are considering joining the Customs Union.

UNEP's Regional Ozone Network for Europe & Central Asia, in cooperation with UNDP and UNIDO and the Ministry of Natural Resources and Environmental Protection of the Republic of Belarus, jointly organized a contact group meeting on implications of joining the Customs Union to be held in Minsk, Belarus, 18 - 20 March 2014.

UNEP supported the participation of Article 5 countries, whereas UNDP and UNIDO supported that of Article 2 countries:

UNDP: Belarus, Tajikistan

UNIDO: Russian Federation, Kazakhstan

UNEP: Armenia, Kyrgyzstan

The main objective of the meeting was to share experience between the existing and future members of the Customs Union on monitoring legal and preventing illegal ODS trade within the Customs Union and across its outside borders.