Climate Change




East Asian Seas Action Plan (COBESA)

The Action Plan for the Protection and Development of the Marine Environment and Coastal Areas of the East Asian Seas Region (the East Asian Seas Action Plan) was approved in 1981, stimulated by concerns on the effects and sources of marine pollution. Today it has 10 member countries (Australia, Cambodia, Indonesia, Malaysia, People's Republic of China, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam), and its activities are overseen by the Coordinating Body on the Seas of East Asia (COBSEA).  According to the New Strategic Direction for COBSEA (2008-2012), COBSEA focuses on the following areas:

  • Marine- and land-based pollution;
  • Coastal and marine habitat conservation; and
  • Management and response to coastal disasters.
They are implemented through four inter-linked strategies: information management, national capacity building, addressing strategic and emerging issues and regional cooperation.

The UNEP Regional Office for Asia and the Pacific hosts the COBSEA Secretariat, which is responsible for co-coordinating activities related to the marine and coastal environment.