Regional Work
Carpathian Co-operation

Scope: Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland, Slovak Republic, Romania, Serbia, Ukraine

As requested by Carpathian countries, UNEP/ROE services and facilitates the intergovernmental consultation process for Carpathian cooperation. Supporting activities, such as the creation of a network of protected areas in the Carpathians, and the strengthening of participation of NGOs and local communities, will ensure a sustainable development of the region, balanced with ecological coherence and sustainable tourism development.

Carpathian countries adopted and signed the Carpathian Convention during the 5th Ministerial Conference “Environment for Europe”, which took place in Kiev in May 2003. In the resolution adopted together with the Convention, UNEP/ROE, which provided the Secretariat to the negotiations, was requested to continue to service the process pending the Convention's entry into force. Italy, Austria and Germany pledged support; Austria offered to host and co-finance the Interim Secretariat.

The Interim Secretariat of the Framework Convention on the Protection and Sustainable Development of the Carpathians was inaugurated on 15 July 2004.

Europe Office - Key Activities

Highlights prev next


What We Do

Get Involved

Ask an Expert

UNEP Regions
Follow Us
facebook twitter google plus
Publications prev next