United Nations Environment Programme

Urban Environment Unit

Eleven Eastern African countries met on 21-23 October 2008 to develop a sub-regional policy framework to address the increasing challenge of air pollution in urban areas. Over 100 participants drawn from Burundi, Djibouti, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Rwanda, Sudan, Somalia, Tanzania and Uganda attended the sub-regional workshop that was also attended by international experts from the Stockholm Environment Institute, Air Pollution Information Network for Africa, African Refiners Association, International Petroleum Industry Environmental Conservation Association, and the World Bank.

The Policy Session, held on 21 and 22 October, identified the main urban air pollution issues in the sub-region and developed concrete policy recommendations to address these challenges. The Ministerial Session, held on 23 October, deliberated on these policy recommendations and adopted the Eastern Africa Regional Framework Agreement on Air Pollution (Nairobi Agreement-2008).

Download more information about the workshop here:

UNEP 2005